EU member states decided to renew the sanctions introduced in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by the Russian Federation until 23 June 2021.

The restrictive measures were introduced in 2014 as a response to Russia’s forcible seizure of Crimea in March 2014 after Moscow deployed troops and staged a referendum dismissed as illegal by at least 100 countries.

The sanctions include prohibitions targeting the imports of products originating in Crimea into the EU, as well as infrastructural or financial investments and tourism services on the peninsula.

Goods and technologies for the transport, telecommunications, and energy sectors also cannot be exported to Crimean companies or for use on the peninsula.